Year of Firsts

imgres

Today was my first time, as a teacher, celebrating Dr. Seuss’s birthday! We read book, we wrote stories, we watched videos, and we shared our favorite Seuss things! My favorite thing that I had my students do was to read a Dr. Seuss story with a partners, and pick out all of the “Seuss language”. They loved it, and thought that all of his words were so fun and goofy. It was a riot. Below is a photo of my FIRST Dr. Seuss bulletin board:

bulletin

I have really enjoyed all of my firsts this year. First Halloween, first Thanksgiving, Christmas time was amazing, New Years resolutions, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Valentines and everything in between! Celebrating these days and teaching the kids what they are all about makes my job so fun! Who couldn’t love it?!

6 thoughts on “Year of Firsts

  1. I am glad to hear you are enjoying all your “firsts” as a new teacher, including the celebration of Dr. Seuss’s birthday. I am sure you will always remember your first class! And I love second graders! They are like little sponges, so willing to soak up everything they are involved in. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We read Dr. Seuss’s Wacky Wednesday 3 times yesterday just because it was so funny! The first time we read the kids just turned and talked (laughing) about what they noticed was so wacky about each page. We read it a second time with no voices so we could actually know what Dr. Seuss had written. The last time we counted ALL the wacky things on each page to make sure we noticed as many as Dr. Seuss said there were! Lots of FUN this week for sure! So glad Sam you have joined us on the K-2 team!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

